Louisiana Learner's Permit

Louisiana Learner's permit

Learn how to get your Louisiana Learner's permit

Louisiana has a graduated licensing system called RYAN (Reduce Youth Accidents Now) Act. In order to apply for your Louisiana learners permit, you will first have to complete this class.

The graduated licensing system has three stages:

  • Learner's permit
  • Intermediate license (Class E)
  • Full license (Class D)

Your Louisiana learners permit will allow you to drive only with a licensed driver that is 21 years old, or if they are your sibling they can be at least 18 years old.

In order to obtain a Louisiana learners permit, you must first:

  • Be 15 years of age.
  • Successfully pass the driver's education course. If you are younger than 17 you will have to complete the hour course, however if you are 17 or older you can just complete the 6 hour course.

When applying for a Louisiana learners permit you should go to your local office of motor vehicles (OMV) and bring with you the following things.

Bring the following to the DMV

  • Three documents to provide proof of your identity.
  • Your parent or legal guardian.
  • $39.50 plus an $8 service fee.

Make sure you pick up a Louisiana driver's license manual to prepare for your written and traffic signs test because in order to obtain your Louisiana learners permit you will also have to pass a vision exam, written test, and traffic signs test.

At Drivers-Licenses.org, we've done all the research on driver's education for you. Check out the links below to find everything you need to know about driver's education training and requirements.