Reinstate Suspended License in Mississippi
Mississippi has very straight-forward rules about suspended driver's licenses. Basically, the ways in which your license can be suspended are through driving under the influence and other suspensions. While there is a heavy focus on DUI suspensions, the other section does include quite a few reasons why your driver's license might be suspended.
Below are some quick facts about the kinds of driver's license suspensions that exist in Mississippi.
- Drug and/or alcohol suspensions ? There are three phases that a Mississippi driver may go through if they do not comply with respecting the rules of the road.
- The first time you are convicted of a DUI, your license will be suspended for at least six months, but there is a chance it could be up to a year. In addition, you could spend 48 hours in jail, or more, and be forced to pay fines in excess of $1,000.
- A second offense in this area will mean a minimum two-year suspension, five days in jail and up to $1,500 in fines.
- If you are convicted of a DUI a third time, you will lose your license for five years, pay up to $5,000 in fines and spend one to five years of your life in jail. In addition, you will be required to submit to drug and alcohol testing and your automobile may be taken away entirely.
- Other Suspensions ? Mississippi can take away your license for back child support, medical issues and traffic convictions. They can also take away your license if you accumulate too many points on it. The number varies.
To reinstate your Mississippi driver's license, you will need to pay all your fines in full, pay a separate license reinstatement fee and then wait for DPS to approve or deny your reinstatement of your Mississippi driver's license.