Renewing your Driver License
If your driver's license is about to expire, you need to act now. Renewing your license before it's too late can save you a lot of time and money. Our staff has researched the driver's license renewal process for every state, so all the information you need is right here at your fingertips. Click "Continue" below to get started..
Driver's License Renewal in South Carolina
How to renew your South Carolina driver's license
You are required by law to always have a valid driver's license while operating a motor vehicle. You will have to renew your South Carolina driver's license every 10 years. The state of South Carolina gives you three options to renew your South Carolina driver's license. Online, in person, or by mail.
Requirements to renew your South Carolina driver's license online:
- Your last renewal was in person.
- You're a citizen of the United States.
- Your license has neither been expired for more than nine months nor suspended.
- You have acquired no more than five points on your driving record in the last two years.
- You are younger than 65.
When renewing online:
- Be prepared to provide your date of birth, driver's license number, and Social Security number.
- Gather your car insurance information.
- Have a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit card ready to pay the fee of $12.50.
- Head to the state's Public Services Renewal page.
Requirements to renew your South Carolina driver's license by mail
You must meet the same requirements for renewing online, except you dont have to be younger than 65.
- Download and complete a Form DL-63(your eye care specialist must complete the second part).
- Have a check or money order for $12.50.
- Mail everything to:
SC Department of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016-0035
You must renew your driver's license in person if:
- You last renewed your license online or by mail.
- You don't meet the requirements listed above to renew online or by mail.
To renew your South Carolina driver's license in person:
- Have the appropriate fee ($12.50 for a five-year renewal, and $25 for a 10-year renewal}.
- Have proof of car insurance.
- Be prepared to pass the vision test or provide an eye exam certificate from your eye care specialist.
- Be prepared to pass the written test if you have more than five points on your driving record.
- Be prepared to pass the written and driving tests if you're license has been expired for more than nine months.
- Head to your nearest DMV office.